September 29, 2023


LONDON — Russia has sanctioned 287 British MPs in a retaliatory move against U.K. curbs imposed over the Ukraine invasion.

Russia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced Wednesday that it would impose “personal restrictions” on 287 members of the House of Commons.

It argued these politicians “took the most active part” in the U.K.’s decision on March 11 to sanction 386 members of the Duma, the lower house of the Russian parliament, in response to their support for Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Moscow also accused the British lawmakers of contributing to the “groundless whipping up of Russophobic hysteria” in the U.K.

“The hostile rhetoric and far-fetched accusations coming from the mouths of British parliamentarians not only condone the hostile course of London, aimed at demonizing our country and its international isolation, but are also used by opponents of mutually respectful dialogue with Russia to undermine the foundation of bilateral cooperation,” the ministry said in a statement.

The list of sanctioned MPs — 213 from the ruling Conservatives and 74 from the opposition Labour, includes Cabinet members Steve Barclay, Jacob Rees-Mogg and Thérèse Coffey, as well as ministers Kevin Foster, Conor Burns, Penny Mordaunt, and Chris Heaton-Harris, among others.

The Speaker of the House of Commons Lindsay Hoyle tops the list of sanctioned Labour MPs, which also includes former frontbenchers Diane Abbott and Barry Gardiner.

One of the Tory MPs sanctioned, former minister Mark Harper, said he was “proud” to be on the list, adding: “Russia really hates being called out for their illegal invasion of Ukraine and disgraceful war crimes. The United Kingdom stands with Ukraine.”

The Russian government threatened to add more names to the list in the future “taking into account London’s bet on the consistent strengthening of anti-Russian sanctions.”


Source link

Leave a Reply