March 24, 2023


The U.K. government has sanctioned 386 members of the Duma, the lower house of the Russian parliament, for their support for the Ukrainian breakaway regions of Luhansk and Donetsk — which the foreign office said was a precursor to Vladimir Putin’s lethal invasion of Ukraine.

The Russian MPs have been banned from traveling to the U.K., accessing assets in Britain and doing business with U.K. citizens and businesses.

“We’re targeting those complicit in Putin’s illegal invasion of Ukraine and those who support this barbaric war,” U.K. Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said. “We will not let up the pressure and will continue to tighten the screw on the Russian economy through sanctions.”

The total number of Duma members sanctioned by the U.K. now stands at 400.

It follows the announcement Thursday of sanctions against Chelsea Football Club owner Roman Abramovich and six others, bringing the total number of Russian oligarchs placed under U.K. restrictions since the Russian invasion to 18.


Source link

Leave a Reply